To Ship or Not To Ship?

To ship or not to ship? That’s a really good question! I’ve been deliberating this for quite awhile…

Those who know me know I’ve been a “loser” or a “jinx” when it comes to shipping couples in books and TV shows in the past. For those who don’t know…this is a quick run-down of couples I’ve “shipped” who haven’t ended up getting a happily ever after (HEA) with each other. I’ve kindly included the reasons why I think they didn’t receive a HEA – though it makes NO SENSE to me why they couldn’t have had a HEA. The only reason I could come up with – is that it has to do with ME.

hqdefaultJonathan Randall and Tammy Winslow, Guiding Light

Tammy died, even though both actors were leaving the show at the SAME TIME, and could’ve easily ran off into the sunset together.

Eric Northman and Sookie Stackhouse, SVM/True Blood

Bitchy author set on sticking it to Eric fans. Dumbass Executive Producer who can’t separate real life from fiction.

tumblr_lr68qqsWSy1qeefaro2_250Jax Teller and Tara Knowles, Sons of Anarchy

Tara died, though I can’t fault EP Kurt Sutter, because he’s such a brilliant writer, and the way it happened made sense storyline wise. I’m actually not too upset over this, but regardless…they didn’t end up HEA.

redeye-vikings-on-history-channel-early-photos-032Ragnar Lothbrok and Lagertha Lothbrok, Vikings

Lagertha chose to divorce him after finding out Ragnar knocked Princess Aslaug up, while she was left at home dealing with a plague that killed their own daughter. I don’t blame her in the least.

delena1Damon Salvator and Elena Gilbert, The Vampire Diaries

On-again…off-again…on-again…off-again. They keep dragging this out and have for so long…I’ve begun to lose interest and what little hope I had died at the end of this past season when you know what happened – happened.

As you can see…I’m a loser – as far as choosing which couples I should ship is concerned.

Okay…Eric. You don’t have to tell me twice. Can I please sit on your lap?

All of this made me question myself and my own sanity. Below are some questions I’ve been asking myself…

Is it because I make bad choices? Was I seeing something that wasn’t really there to begin with? Did the writers destroy these couples on purpose? How could I be so wrong? Is it the writer’s fault? Do I bring these couples bad luck?

As you can see…these questions are enough to do my head in!

WWLYoHere’s a short run-down of couples I’d LOVE to ship, but I’m scared to. I’m not sure if I can trust the writers enough to invest in them. I’m including reasons why I shouldn’t ship them: kind of like listing the pros and cons – but really only mentioning the cons.

tumblr_mkn66yTJBJ1qgc7ezo6_250John Ross Ewing and Pamela Rebecca Barnes Ewing, Dallas

During the mid-season finale, Pamela found out John Ross had been having an affair with Emma who lives under the same roof as them at Southfork Ranch. And well, it’s Dallas…a soap opera. NOBODY is ever happy on one for long.
Captain Hook (aka. Killian Jones) and Emma Swan, Once Upon A Time

Too soon to tell, but they’re involved in a love triangle with Emma’s son’s baby daddy. And because he’s got a hook for a hand…her parents, Snow White and Prince Charming are reluctant to accept him into their family.
789967olicityOliver Queen and Felicity Smoak, Arrow

According to the comics it’s based on, Oliver is destined to be with the Black Canary aka. Laurel. Plus, the writers seem almost reluctant to say whether or not they’ll pair them up – even though it’s what the FANS want. I think they’re going to go for the slow burn…but I’m scared they’ll end up like Delena…and taking way too long.

the-100-650x400Bellamy Blake and Clarke Griffin, The 100

They really aren’t a couple yet on the show, but judging from the heated looks and exchanges between them, it won’t be too long. Meanwhile, Bellamy is sleeping with every ‘ho’ on Earth and Clarke is having sexual relations with Finn.
tvd-klarolineNicklaus (Klaus) and Caroline, The Vampire Diaries/The Originals

They are on different shows, with no character interaction unless there’s a ‘guest appearance’ by one or the other. Klaus made a vow to never come back to Mystic Falls if Caroline was truthful with him, so she did. Which is bad news for Klaroline shippers.

I’d like to point out that ALL of these couples I mentioned above – are VERY popular with fans. They have amazing chemistry and there relationships are filled with angst. They bring out the best in each other. They have excellent word-play, and have that bad boy/good girl thing happening.

I know I’ve said that I should ship couples I hate in the past…but I can’t. I just CAN’T do it. I can’t even watch their scenes to begin with, let alone waste my breath talking about them in any kind of positive light.

tumblr_mmcqjctKt01s5snuro1_400I’m a romantic at heart. I admit that shipping my favorite couple is approx. 90% of the reason why I watch a TV show or read a book to begin with, and they are the main reason why I continue to watch a TV show or keep reading a book. I’ve begun to realize that maybe I’m a glutton for punishment. LOL

As you can see…I’ve got a dilemma, and I’m hoping you can help me make a decision.

Do I dare put myself through this torture once again – only to lose? Should I just give up now? Should I just focus on individual characters instead? Or should I keep hoping the writers actually do these couples justice and give me the HEA I’m looking for?

What should I do, Insiders? Please help me out by commenting below.

PS. If by admitting the couples I would like to ship destroys their relationship(s) in any way, shape or form…please accept my sincerest apology for destroying them too.

4 thoughts on “To Ship or Not To Ship?

  1. Well I feel your pain. Obviously I ship Eric & Sookie, and Jax and Tara. But I shipped Stephan and Elena. But I did ship Booth and Bones, And Castle and Beckett. There it must only work out if they only use LAST names!

    What about Crane and Mills? Well I really like Katrina, so I would have to ship Ichabod and Katrina I’m afraid. Or just Ichabod, yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t give up the ship !!! (wait, someone else said that didn’t they?)..Just because there are idiots out there (CH *cough* and AB *cough cough*) and whoever the idiot is who keeps screwing with Elena & Damon, doesn’t mean you should lose your love of these couples. Because even if these idiots mess them up… there will always be FAN FICTION! The place where people who love these couples put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and re-write the wrongs that were done..

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

